On human rights, the United States must be a beacon. America is strongest when our policies and actions match our values.More
Home / Event / 2009 Human Rights Award Dinner

2009 Human Rights Award Dinner

October 22, 2009 - 5:45pm

Wednesday, October 21, 2009


Honoring: Brazilian human rights defender Sandra Carvalho and Colombian human rights defender Principe Gabriel González

Saluting: Michael Posner, founding executive director of Human Rights First

Special Guest: Tom Brokaw

Dinner Chairs: Andi and Tom A. Bernstein, Daniel and Alisa Doctoroff, and William D. Zabel and Deborah Miller

2009 Human Rights Award

Sandra Carvalho
Brazilian human rights defender

Over the past two decades, Sandra Carvalho, co-founder of Justiça Global, one of Brazil’s most respected human rights groups, has courageously defended human rights in Brazil—taking on the Brazilian authorities, military, and organized crime—and then working to hold the perpetrators of abuse accountable. Her reputation as a fearless defender of the poor and disenfranchised is built on her repeated efforts to halt the activities of Rio de Janeiro’s police-run death squads, to expose the appalling conditions in prisons across the country, to advance the social and economic human rights (especially land claims) of vulnerable communities in Brazil’s resource-rich interior, and to protect Brazilian human rights defenders under attack. Sandra has made a career of taking on Brazil’s most powerful and entrenched interests, doing so at great personal risk.

Principe Gabriel González
Colombian human rights advocate

A human rights advocate since university, Principe Gabriel González has spent years exposing degrading treatment of Colombian political prisoners. Ironically, González’s advocacy led to his own arrest and detention. He was detained for over one year, lived in exile to escape judicial harassment, and now faces seven more years in prison on trumped-up charges if his appeal to Colombia’s Supreme Court is not successful. González credits Human Rights First’s relentless advocacy for his freedom.

2009 Human Rights Award Dinner Committee

Elsie V. and M. Bernard Aidinoff
Richard and Kerri Bartlett
Patricia Bauman
Carol Bellamy
Helen and Robert Bernstein
William S. Bernstein
David Boies
John K. Castle
James and Jane Cohan
Brigadier General James P. Cullen, USA (Ret.)
Kim and Judy Davis
Steven H. Davis
Donald Francis Donovan and Jennifer Lake
Matthew Dontzin and Ginger Harris-Dontzin
Dina Dublon
Frayda and Ron Feldman
Paul J. Fribourg
Vartan and Clare Gregorian
Vice Admiral Lee F. Gunn, USN (Ret.)
Peter and Helen Haje
General Joseph P. Hoar, USMC (Ret.)
Sir Joseph Hotung
Brigadier General David R. Irvine, USA (Ret.)
Virginia and Robert Joffe
Helene and Mark Kaplan
Laurie Kefalidis
Kerry Kennedy
Mark Kingdon and Anla Cheng-Kingdon
Steven J. Kolleeny
Dr. Mathilde Krim
Emily Fisher Landau
Joann and Robert Todd Lang
Marc Lawrence-Apfelbaum
Jesse Margolin
Siobhan and George Nicolau
Lieutenant General Charles Otstott, USA (Ret.)
Robert M. Pennoyer
Toni and Arthur Rock
Laurance Rockefeller
David Roe
Elaine Sargent
Steven H. Schulman
John D. Spears
Rose Styron
Rocio Suarez
Jay and Kelly Sugarman
William H. Taft, IV
Laurie M. Tisch
Jeffrey S. Trachtman
Betsy West and Oren Jacoby
Maureen White and Steven L. Rattner
Lynn Witkowski
List as of August 28, 2009