Subscribe to First Page and join our fight for human rightsSign Up
Home / 2014 Beacon Prize

2014 Beacon Prize

Summit Registration View the Agenda Speaker Bios

Beacon Prize Honorees

Senator Dianne Feinstein and Senator John McCain

We are pleased to announce that the 2014 Beacon Prize will be awarded to Senators Dianne Feinstein and John McCain for their leadership to end the use of torture and other cruel treatment of prisoners by the United States.

As Chair of the Senate Select Committee on Intelligence, Senator Feinstein led a comprehensive 5-year investigation into the CIA’s post-9/11 interrogation and detention program, the first independent assessment of the program based on the CIA’s own classified records. The review has been hailed as among the most important oversight efforts in the history of the Senate.

This year, Senator Feinstein secured a bipartisan vote to release the committee’s findings. This landmark report will enable Americans finally to know the truth about torture.

Senator McCain, a victim of torture during his 5 ½ years as a prisoner of war in Vietnam, led a successful bipartisan effort to enact The McCain Amendment, part of the 2005 Detainee Treatment Act that prohibited torture and other cruel, inhuman, or degrading treatment of detainees in U.S. custody. Senator McCain has continued to lead the effort to bring our country back from the “dark side.”

In seeking to ensure legal and humane treatment of detainees, Senators McCain and Feinstein are helping our country live up to its ideals.

Beacon Honorary Host Committee:

Senator Barbara Boxer Senator Barbara A. Mikulski
Senator Ben Cardin Majority Leader Harry Reid
Senator Susan Collins Senator John D. Rockefeller IV
Senator Bob Dole Senator Olympia Snowe
Senator Martin Heinrich Senator Mark E. Udall
Senator Angus S. King, Jr. Senator John Warner
Senator Patrick Leahy Senator Mark Warner
Senator Carl Levin Senator Sheldon Whitehouse

Previous Beacon Winners