On human rights, the United States must be a beacon. America is strongest when our policies and actions match our values.More
Home / Roger N. Baldwin Medal of Liberty

Roger N. Baldwin Medal of Liberty

Roger Baldwin Medal

The Roger N. Baldwin Medal of Liberty was established in 1989 in honor of the principal founder of the American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) and the International League for Human Rights. The Award is presented by Human Rights First every other year to a human rights organization or activist outside of the United States that has made a distinguished contribution to the protection and promotion of human rights.

Criteria upon which the Baldwin Medal is awarded include distinctiveness and effectiveness of the nominee’s human rights advocacy and the degree to which the nominee faces risk as a result of their work. The Awardee receives a trip to the United States to engage in advocacy and US$25,000.

Roger N. Baldwin was a founding figure in the international human rights movement. For more information on his life and work, please click here.

Human Rights First is no longer accepting nominations for the 2016 Baldwin Medal of Liberty.

Previous Recipients of the Roger N. Baldwin Medal of Liberty include:

2014 Kholoud Saber Barakat Egyptian activist
2012 Bahrain Center for Human Rights (Bahrain)
2010 Jesús Tecú Osorio Rabinal’s Community Legal Aid Clinic, Association for the Integral Development of the Victims of Violence, Maya-Achí (ADIVIMA), New Hope Foundation
2008 Hawa Aden Mohamed Galkayo Education Center for Peace and Development (GECPD) (Somalia)
2007 Ivan Cepeda Castro National Movement for Victims of State Crimes (Colombia)
2004 Amigo Ngonde Funsu ASADHO (Democratic Republic of Congo)
2002 Dr. Thierno Sow Guinean Organization for Human Rights (Guinea)
1998 Kek Galabru, Thun Saray LICADHO, ADHOC (Cambodia)
1996 Carlos Beas Torres Union of Indigenous Communities of the Northern Zone of the Isthmus (Mexico)
1994 Yavuz Onin Human Rights Foundation of Turkey (Turkey)
1992 Hakim Nusantara Legal Aid Institute – LBH (Indonesia)
1990 Olisa Ogbakoba Nigeria Civil Liberties Organization (Nigeria)