On human rights, the United States must be a beacon. America is strongest when our policies and actions match our values.More
Home / Call for Nominations: The 2018 Roger N. Baldwin Medal of Liberty Award

Call for Nominations: The 2018 Roger N. Baldwin Medal of Liberty Award

Warning message

Submissions for this form are closed.

Human Rights First is currently accepting nominations for the 2018 Roger N. Baldwin Medal of Liberty Award. Those involved in human rights throughout the world are encouraged to nominate individuals or organizations that have demonstrated an exceptional commitment to international human rights advocacy in areas such as the defense of civil society, protection of refugees, combatting of antisemitism and other forms of extremism, promotion of religious freedom, defense of the rights of LGBT persons, and advancement of accountability for human rights abuse, among others. The winner will be selected by a distinguished jury and will receive a trip to the United States to engage in advocacy and a $25,000 prize. This year marks the 29th anniversary of the award.

More information about the award can be found here:


Some criteria to consider and include when nominating an individual or organization:

  • The nominee’s work is unique or particularly distinctive;
  • The nominee’s work has been effective in advancing human rights in a country other than the United States;
  • The nominee faces risk or insecurity as a result of their work; and
  • The nominee would benefit significantly from receiving the Baldwin Award, in the form of enhanced protection, or in any other way.

Please use the form below to submit nominations. Nominations are due on May 10, 2018.

The Roger N. Baldwin Medal of Liberty Award, named in honor of the principal founder of the American Civil Liberties Union and the International League for Human Rights, was established in 1989 and is presented in alternating years by Human Rights First (awarded to international human rights advocates) and the ACLU (awarded to advocates in the United States).

Previous Recipients of the Award include:

2016: Janvier Murairi Bakihanaye; Anti-Slavery Activist (Democratic Republic of Congo)
2014: Kholoud Saber Barakat; Egyptian activist
2012: Bahrain Center for Human Rights (Bahrain)
2010: Jesus Tecu Osorio; The New Hope Foundation, Río Negro (Guatemala)
2008: Hawa Aden Mohamed; Galkayo Education Center for Peace and Development (Somalia)
2007: Ivan Cepeda Castro; National Movement for Victims of State Crimes (Colombia)
2004: Amigo Ngonde Funsu; ASADHO (Democratic Republic of Congo)
2002: Dr. Theirno Sow; Guinean Organization for Human Rights (Guinea)
1998: Kek Galabru, Thun Saray; LICADHO, ADHOC (Cambodia)