On human rights, the United States must be a beacon. America is strongest when our policies and actions match our values.More
Home / Event / Human Rights First Awards Dinner

Human Rights First Awards Dinner

Monday, October 28, 2019
Cocktail Reception 6:00 P.M.
Dinner and Program 7:00 P.M.
Dessert and Cocktails to follow Program
Pier Sixty, Chelsea Piers, New York City

You are cordially invited to attend the 2019 Human Rights First Awards Dinner. Each year at the dinner we honor extraordinary human rights activists, exceptional works of popular culture, and law firms that have provided exemplary pro bono representation to refugees.

2019 Dinner Awardees

2019 William D. Zabel Human Rights Award

Miroslava Cerpas Hernández, Technical Coordinator, Center for Investigation and Promotion of Human Rights

As technical coordinator at the Center for Investigation and Promotion of Human Rights (CIPRODEH), Miroslava Cerpas Hernández advances the rights of Honduran youth by strengthening legislative leadership skills of young parliamentarians. Cerpas promotes the rights of migrants and refugees displaced by violence, survivors of human trafficking, stateless persons, and others, by calling attention to the humanitarian crisis Honduras is facing on issues and documenting the exoduses commonly referred to as “migrant caravans.” As Honduras faces an economic crisis, violence and nation-wide corruption, Cerpas is a leading advocate for policies that protect her fellow Hondurans and reduce the causes of internal displacement.

2019 Sidney Lumet Award for Integrity in Entertainment

The Report

The Report explores the tireless struggle of Daniel J. Jones, supported by his boss, Senator Dianne Feinstein, to uncover the true nature of the cruel, unethical and ultimately ineffective "enhanced interrogation techniques" being employed by the intelligence community following 9/11 and to overcome concerted efforts by the CIA, and others in government, to suppress the findings of the nearly 7,000 page report.

At a time when our political debate is particularly rancorous and dispiriting, The Report is an important reminder of the impact that one individual can have by tenaciously pursuing the truth, even when it is ugly and uncomfortable.

Each year the Sidney Lumet Award honors a work of popular culture that raises awareness about human rights and provokes discussion about some of the most pressing political and social issues of our time.

2019 Marvin E. Frankel Award

Honoring Outstanding Dedication to Pro Bono Service

The Marvin E. Frankel Award was established in 2002 to honor the memory of Human Rights First’s longtime chairman and to recognize law firms that exemplify Judge Frankel’s extraordinary dedication to human rights and commitment to pro bono service.

These honorees have done outstanding work on behalf of refugees, helping to set the bar for others: Akin Gump Strauss Hauer & Feld LLP (Houston), Ballard Spahr LLP (Washington, D.C.), Kobre & Kim LLP (New York), and Morgan, Lewis, and Bockius LLP (Los Angeles).

Amber first starred on Broadway as the High Priestess of Soul, Nina Simone, in Soul Doctor, earning rave reviews and a nomination for the prestigious Clive Barnes Award. Amber then played ‘Peggy Schuyler/Maria Reynolds’ with the 11-time Tony Award winning smash hit HAMILTON. In Spring of 2016, Amber returned to Broadway in Shuffle Along, The Making of the Musical Sensation of 1921 and All That Followed. The show, nominated for 10 Tony Awards, was written and directed by George C. Wolfe, choreographed by Savion Glover, and boasted an all-star cast of Audra McDonald, Brian Stokes Mitchell, Billy Porter, Joshua Henry, and Brandon Victor Dixon.

She had a blast as ‘Cheryl’ in the star-studded, limited run of Little Shop of Horrors at the John F. Kennedy Center for Performing Arts in Washington, DC. Most recently, she starred in Witness Uganda as ‘Joy’ at the Wallis Annenberg Performing Arts Center in Los Angeles.  She made her television debut as ‘Shay’ in the hit HBO show, High Maintenance. Amber is a proud founding member of the Broadway Advocacy Coalition. 

Past Dinner Highlights

2017 Awards Dinner

Highlights include honoree Friar Tomás Gonzáles and Lumet Award Honoree The Handmaid’s Tale.

2016 Awards Dinner

Highlights include honorees Khaleel Aldakhi, Ameena Saeed Hasan and Eye in the Sky.

2015 Awards Dinner

Highlights include honorees Jane Braden-Golay, Siavosh Derakhti, and Niddal El-Jabri.

2014 Awards Dinner

Highlights include honoree Ryan Boyette and Lumet Award honoree 12 Years a Slave.